Good Morning Mix – Laura Jones & Matt Tolfrey Live in the Mixmag DJ Lab (11/9/12)

Leftroom Records big wig Matt Tolfrey and exciting newcomer Laura Jones bring you this morning’s mix courtesy of a live set from a Mixmag DJ Lab performance back at the beginning of November. Laura Jones, a name associated both with big guns like Visionquest and Leftroom Records, is best known for her 2011 breakout production “Love In Me” but has been sending critics into a flurry of excitement with her fresh take on a very deep and very melodic brand of house music. Matt Tolfrey, on the other hand, seems to be hitting his stride more and more every year both with his own work and his mentorship of younger names on his label and its imprints.

The two deliver a range of deep cuts from some lesser known but well-respected producers like Voyeur, Jack Dixon, Digitaline, Landshark, and other Leftroom family members. Even if you’re not familiar with much of this tracklist, you can be sure this mix is both driving and incredibly rhythmic — just enough to get you through Tuesday morning. Check out the full tracklist after the break and fast forward to the beginning of Laura’s set at around the 17:00 minute mark on the video.

Laura Jones Tracklist:

Elon & Lauren Ritter – ‘Juntos’ (Resolute)
Hector – ‘Stoned Raiders’ (One Records)
Art Department, Blud & Shaun Reeves ft Damian Lazarus – ‘Robot Heart’ (Blud’s deep playa beats mix) (No 19 music)
Little Fritter – ‘Time To Move On’ (Affin Records)
Boola – ‘Ren’tors’ (Initials)
Jack Dixon – ‘PS Triangle’ (Leftroom)
Voyeur – ‘Blame It On The Youth’ (Kerri Chandler Club Mix) (Madtech Records)
Digitaline – ‘Wanna’ (Original mix) (Cityfox)
Nikola Gaia, I-Kie – ‘Can You Feel It’ (Brise Records)
Matt Tolfrey ft Kevin Knapp – ‘The Spooks’ (Leftroom)

Matt Tolfrey Tracklist:

1. Lil Mark – 1994 – Leftroom
2. Lil Mark – Dark Of Pain – Leftroom
3. Matt Tolfrey feat Kevin Knapp – Downtown – Leftroom
4. Grand Corporation – Wonder & Amazement (Crooked Sky Mix) – Classic
5. Matthew Styles – Hot! – Running Back
6. Jack Dixon – Square – Leftroom Limited
7. Jaimer Vincentie – Missin’ – Left’d
8. Landshark – Time Me Up – Leftroom Limited
9. Robbie Hardkiss – Everything Is Changing (Hyena Stomp Mama Mix) – Classic
10. Carlos & Lopez – So Much Deep – Left’d
11. Alcatraz – Give Me Love (Doc Martin Remix) – 1Trax
12. Classic VIV & Lawaetz – This Is For The Women – Compost

Tags: , , , , , , , ,