Art Department pile on exclusives in No.19’s third ‘Social Experiment’ compilationArt Department Social Eperiment

Art Department pile on exclusives in No.19’s third ‘Social Experiment’ compilation

Highly-regarded Canadian label No. 19 Music is out this week with the third installment of their Social Experiment album series. Following up Soul Clap’s boogie-down selections from February 2011, Art Department dive head first into the terrific world of spacey house and out-there dance floor techno. Members Kenny Glasgow and Jonny White had been doing their thing quite well before merging into Art Department under Crosstown Rebels in 2009. Now, with several years as a duo — performing both live with Jonny’s vocals and in DJ sets — the pair are very much established among the underground’s titanic talent.

Of the compilation’s fourteen tracks, no fewer than eight are exclusive to this mix — making this a bit of a “must have” for any serious fan of the new wave of underground talent sweeping the common conscious these days. Not only is this Art Department’s first official mix (outside of their album together), but they contribute two new originals, a remix, and collaboration on “Robot Heart” with BLUD, Shaun Reeves, and the ever-cerebral Damian Lazarus on vocals. Jonny White also lends his pipes for the track “La Cueva” with Nitin.

Art Department select a fair number of Hot Creations favorites: Brigante and Ali Love on the very trippy “The Jungle,” Luca C on the Art Department remix of his track “Tomorrow Can Wait,” and Jamie Jones on an exclusive “Doctor Blue.” Life and Death cohorts Tales of Us and My Favorite Robot also make strong showings. The most notable track on the compilation, however, is Art Department’s own “Insomniac.” The track closes the compilation and through its entirety never quits the pair’s skilled rolling instrumental kicks. Jonathan Lee’s “Senses” and Tale of Us’s edit of Fuckpony’s “Bongo Born” also lead the pack in the exclusives that’ll be sure to light fires on dance floors all over in the underbelly of dance music. Stream some of these tracks and check out the tracklist below. It is available on No. 19 Music on Beatport.

Jonny White & Nitin – La Cueva 

Jonathan Lee – Senses

Fuckpony – Bongo Born (Tale Of Us Remix)

 Jamie Jones – Doctor Blue

Art Department – Insomniac

01. Art Department – Into The Dust Intro
02. Jonny White & Nitin – La Cueva
03. Ali Love – The Jungle (Brigante’s Mix)
04. Luca C. & Brigante feat Robert Owens – Tomorrow Can Wait (Art Department Remix)
05. Jonathan Lee – Senses
06. Foremost Poets – Moonraker (Accapella)
07. Jackin Rabbit feat. Robert Owens – Full Of Dreams
08. Fuckpony – Bongo Born (Tale Of Us Remix)
09. Jamie Jones – Doctor Blue
10. DJ Hell feat. Brian Ferry – U Can Dance (Carl Craig Remix)
11. Art Department, BLUD, Shaun Reeves feat. Damian Lazarus – Robot Heart
12. My Favorite Robot – Not Progress
13. Gregorythme – Artificial Tears
14. Art Department – Insomniac

Purchase: Beatport

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,