Essential Mix Review: Atoms For Peace toe the line between experimental and dance-worthyEssential Mi Review Atoms For Peace

Essential Mix Review: Atoms For Peace toe the line between experimental and dance-worthy

Last weekend, the legendary Thom Yorke appeared on Pete Tong‘s Essential Mix alongside Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich delivering to listeners a unique Atoms For Peace set. The duo represented the five man supergroup with Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, Beck/ R.E.M drummer Joey Waronker, and Brazilian instrumentalist Mauro Refosco. Named after Eisenhower’s 1953 speech, the electronic rock band transforms Radiohead’s peaceful emotion into something dance music can digest. The band released their debut album Amok only weeks ago and now they are on album promotion tour after visiting Radio 1’s decks.

While some may see the project as just a Radiohead imitation with more machines, Godrich and Yorke prove true electronic experimentation with their 2-hour set. Beginning with Chris Clark’s off-beat drum-driven “The Pinning Pt. 1” from his album Iradelphic, the duo immediately show listeners this will not be a typical Essential Mix. Following the hip-hop inspired start, the two move into a Thom Yorke production collaboration with “R Fren,” which translates the emotion of his Radiohead lyrics into a journey of genre-defying soundscapes. Continuing on the experimental front, the bandmates work in everything from trance to bleeping electro — incorporating material from Radiohead, Yorke and Atoms For Peace along the way.

After delivering two unreleased tracks, first “The Twist” a production from Yorke and then Radiohead’s “Harmonics Loop,” the show moves into glitchier frequencies. The instrumentally-driven set met by Yorke’s muttered singing at times, toes the edge of experimental and dance-worthy throughout, taking listeners on a 2-hour fairytale of electronic music. Supplying listeners with a mixture of diverse genres in the second hour, including the Latin-flavors of “Socana N’gam, the grimey sounds of Trim & Riko’s “Trousers” and the quick-hitting “Average Joe” by Apostrophi — Yorke and Godrich effortlessly showcase their eclectic palette.

The Atoms For Peace mix gave listeners Radiohead sensibility through the electronic sounds of music. Invoking the same feelings as Yorke’s powerful lyrics, the duo revealed an unexpected dance-oriented distinction that highlighted their passion as both musicians and producers.


Chris Clark – The Pining Pt. 1
DOOM & Thom Yorke/Jonny Greenwood – R Fren
Luke Abbott – Brazil
Thom Yorke/Jonny Greenwood – Feeling Pulled Apart By Horses
Redshape – Man Out Of Time (Major Space Dub)
Kuodede – Golf
Colleen Et Les Boites a Musique – Bicycle Bells
Shed – Day After
Thom Yorke – The Twist (Unfinished Section B)
Thom Yorke – Has Been
Marcel Dettman – Ellipse
Luke Abbott – Modern Driveway
Radiohead – Give Up The Ghost (Thriller House Ghost Mix)
Thom Yorke – Harrowdown Hill (C90 Mix)
Radiohead – The Gloaming
Boys Noize – Kill The Kid
Other Lives – Tamer Animals (Atoms For Peace Remix)
Radiohead – Harmonics Loop
Bad Autopsy – Ginmixer
Phon.o – Fukushima
Adolfo Coelho – Socana N’gam
Trim & Riko – Trousers
Apostrophi – Average Joe
Mr. Oizo – Stunt
Throwing Snow & Louis Vines – Too Polite
Steve Reich – It’s Gonna Rain Pt. 1 (1965
DJ Tre – Ping Pong Track
Aphex Twin – Cilonen
DJ Slugo – Juke Me From The Back Low
Thom Yorke – The Drunkk Machine
Firefox & Glamour – Check Da Skills
Thom Yorke – The Hollow Earth
Macc & DgoHn – Forget Stuff
Wishmountain – Walkman
Oneohtrix Point Never – I Only Have Eyes For You
Alex Cortex – Huyendo
Radiohead – Bloom (Jamie XX Club Remix)
Abu Sultan – Your Love Made My Head Hurt
Diplo & Blaqstarr – Get Off (Rob 3 Remix)

Tags: , , , , ,