Daft Punk unveil new look and album tracklist in first Random Access Memories interview20130413 Dp 1365866538

Daft Punk unveil new look and album tracklist in first Random Access Memories interview

After thrilling festival-goers at Coachella with a surprise video preview of their unbelievably funky lead single “Get Lucky,” Daft Punk sat down with Rolling Stone for their first exclusive interview since announcing the release of their forthcoming album, Random Access Memories.

Check out the track-list and new details on the album that Daft Punk describes as “drawing a parallel between the brain and a hard drive” after the break.

Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo describe “a sense of searching for a record [they] hadn’t done” in the wake of their now-legendary Alive 2007 tour. Their first studio album since 2005’s Human After All came together in numerous studios across the globe over the five years that followed.

“There are songs on the album that traveled into five studios over two and a half years,” Bangalter says. “They’re vials being filled up with life. Today, electronic music is made in airports and hotel rooms, by DJs traveling. It has a sense of movement, maybe, but it’s not the same vibe as going into these studios that contain specific things.”

The two songs featuring Pharrell apparently came together after the rapper offered to contribute in any way – even play tambourine – at a release party for Madonna. Bangalter and de Homem-Christo also found time to reconnect with good friend Kanye West to lay down beats on two songs in a “raw” jam session replete with improvised lyrics and primal screams.

In an age in which electronic music production has never been more digital, it makes all too much sense that the arguable forefathers of the current EDM movement would go entirely analog. In fact, Daft Punk’s new album contains only one sample altogether, eschewing a once fundamental source of their sound for live studio musicians who had played with the likes of Michael Jackson and Eric Clapton.

“We wanted to do what we used to do with machines and samplers,” Bangalter explains, “but with people.”

“It’s not that we can’t make crazy futuristic sounding stuff,” Guy-Manuel adds. “But we wanted to play with the past.”

The French robots have also embraced a new look to accompany the album’s throwback sound, ditching Human After All‘s leather jackets for sequined suits by the same designer.

While the robot duo claim they”have no current plans” to tour, they all-but-confirmed that they will eventually return to the road with a career-spanning set list.

Random Access Memories Track-list:

1.”Give Life Back to Music” (featuring Nile Rodgers)
2.”The Game of Love”
3.”Giorgio by Moroder” (featuring Giorgio Moroder)
4.”Within” (featuring Chilly Gonzales)
5.”Instant Crush” (featuring Julian Casablancas)
6.”Lose Yourself to Dance” (featuring Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers)
7.”Touch” (featuring Paul Williams)
8.”Get Lucky” (featuring Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers)
11.”Fragments of Time” (featuring Todd Edwards)
12.”Doin’ It Right” (featuring Panda Bear)
13.”Contact” (featuring DJ Falcon)

Via: Rolling Stone

Tags: , , , , ,