Pretty Lights reveals details, first single from forthcoming studio album, ‘A Color Map of the Sun’

Pretty Lights has been talking about his new studio album since Electric Zoo 2012, but pertinent details like its release date and title were noticeably missing from the conversation. The pieces have finally come together with the announcement that the 2-disc album — dubbed a A Color Map of the Sun — is set for release on July 2nd. In conjunction with the announcement, “Around The Block,” the first single featuring Talib Kweli has been released today and is available for free via

The soulful genre-bending style fans have come to expect from him will be on display but with less sampling. He explains,

By putting together different groups of musicians on a daily basis, different bands were formed with the purpose of playing styles from funk, soul and jazz, to funk, rock and classical. All composition and design happened on the fly, in the moment, and with the single intention of creating amazing sounding music. I searched for vocalists that could take my lyrics and put their own incredible soul and emotion into them. I made beats for some of my favorite rappers in exchange for the ability to chop up the lyrics I wrote. It was a laborious yet immensely gratifying experiment that I could not be more proud of.”

Those familiar with Pretty Lights’ distribution method shouldn’t be shocked to learn that the album will be available for free via the Pretty Lights website. In addition to the album, a documentary chronicling its creation will be premiered this summer.

Click below the jump for the full tracklist.

CD #1: A Color Map of the SunTrack Listing

  1. Color Of My Soul
  2. Press Pause
  3. Let’s Get Busy
  4. Around The Block
  5. Yellow Bird
  6. Go Down Sunshine
  7. So Bright
  8. Vibe Vendetta
  9. Done Wrong
  10. Prophet
  11. One Day They’ll Know
  12. Always All Ways
  13. My Only Hope

CD #2: Live Studio Sessions From A Color Map of the Sun – Track Listing

  1. Reel 15 Break 5
  2. Reel 5 Break 3
  3. Reel 9 Break 6
  4. Reel 11 Break 2
  5. Reel 6 Break 4
  6. Reel 8 Break 2
  7. Reel 18 Session 1
  8. Reel 17 Break 4
  9. Reel 4 Break 3
  10. Reel 12 Break 2
  11. Reel 6 Break 5
  12. Reel 3 Break 3
  13. Reel 7 Break 1



Tags: , , ,