Dancing Astronaut’s top 10 tracks of September 2013Top Ten September

Dancing Astronaut’s top 10 tracks of September 2013

Want an easy way to make sure you are up to date on all the latest, best music? Dancing Astronaut takes a look at the top 10 tracks officially released in September and ranks them based on a combination of reader feedback, track quality, editorial preference & critical reception.

Dancing Astronaut wraps up September for you with another edition of our top 10 tracks of the month. September’s list features massive tracks from reader favorites Kaskade, Hardwell, Nicky Romero with Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano, and more. Not to be missed are also fantastic efforts from Avicii, Steve Angello, and Dog Blood. Click past the break for our top 10 tracks of September!

10. Zedd ft. Haley Williams – Stay The Night (Original Mix)

Shying away from the radio-friendly pianowork of “Clarity,” Zedd returned to his complextro roots for his album’s deluxe edition. Releasing Clarity with “Stay The Night” at the helm, he blends the soaring vocal style that made his Foxes collaboration so successful with the chirpy electro chops that made us start paying attention in the first place.

Axwell Warfield 3

9. Sick Individuals & Axwell ft. Taylr Renee – I Am (Original Mix)

Axwell has been on a tear since resurrecting “Center Of The Universe,” and he followed up appropriately with his collaboration alongside Sick Individuals. With the frenetic energy expected from Sick Individuals and the groovy flavor that Ax has recently stamped as his own, “I Am” comes as a top-tier anthemic production with a vocal from Taylr Renee that brings its melody full circle.

8. Green Velvet – Bigger Than Prince (Hot Since 82 Remix)

Deep house poster boy Hot Since 82 returned to the remix front this fall, taking on the forthcoming Circus Recordings release, “Bigger than Prince” by Green Velvet. The Leeds-based producer implores his signature punchy bass line work on top of Green Velvet’s quirky vocal laden track — transforming it into a dance floor weapon, of sorts.

7. Michael Brun – Antares (Original Mix)

Pulling out all the stops this past month, Michael Brun released three of his most anticipated track at once with his Gravity EP. In addition to the dark title track and the anthem “Halfway,” the offering’s highlight is Brun’s club-geared “Antares.” Driven by percussion and groove, the Phazing producer captured an array of unique but compatible sounds that have been revered all summer long.


6. Chase & Status – Count On Me (Steve Angello Remix)

While fans normally expect one of two styles from Steve Angello — either his late night tech sounds or his anthemic hits — his latest work doesn’t stick to the script. His take on “Count On Me” boasts a gritty, beat driven allure powered by ferocious electro. Similar to his edit of Nari & Milani’s “Kendo,” Steve’s remix for Chase & Status has been tested and proven as nothing short of aggressive.

5. Dog Blood – Chella Ride (Original Mix)

With Skrillex and Boyz Noise succeeding the acclaim of previous efforts on their sophomore EP, Middle Finger 2, “Chella Ride” features all that there is to marvel of the acid-dub Dog Blood heartbeat. Boasting the most contagious rhythm of the EP, the party provoker follows as the successor to “Next Order.

4. Avicii – Lay Me Down (feat. Nile Rodgers & Adam Lambert)

Arguably the most finely tuned record on Avicii’s debut album, True, “Lay Me Down” has Rodgers summoning his disco dominating days with a Chic-esque bassline and Adam Lambert providing timeless vocals in the vein of some of the greatest singers to lace the genre’s hits during the booming 70s. Avicii connects the dots with his gifted sense for octave, finding the perfect home for his creative aesthetic.

Kaskade Dj Mag

3. Kaskade – Take Your Mind Off (Original Mix)

By nature of his arena tour and lead single of the same name, Kaskade’s latest album, Atmosphere, was unleashed this month to the contrary of its big room campaign. Mellow house and a nostalgic sound reminiscent of what his fans adored of Redux, Kaskade prepped most of his studio effort with smooth, delightful beats — and “Take Your Mind Off” embodies that groove and, even greater, sets the tone for the rest of the album.

2. Mark Knight & Funkagenda – Man With The Red Face (Hardwell Remix)

Hardwell again joined Mark Knight‘s imprint amidst in tenth anniversary to recreate that unique sound and even up the ante. Shapeshifting Knight’s own Funkagenda collaboration, “Man With The Red Face,” a record which was originally released over five years ago, Hardwell found another niche while elevating the chords, magnifying its engulfing effect, and drawing the most from the saxophone interlude’s relief.


1. Nicky Romero vs. Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano – S.O.T.U. (Original Mix)

“Jack to the sound of the underground,” has been the phrase most played by DJs and shouted by fans during dance music’s lengthy festival season. That brief vocal hook atop one of the summer’s most desirable beats makes for “SOTU,” the highly anticipated collaboration between Nicky Romero,Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano. The track’s ability to draw the tribal energy that Sunnery and Ryan are known for along with the booming electro house of Romero makes “SOTU” a translatable record that’s been one of the biggest of the year.