Dillon Francis’ debut album is worthy of the hypeDillon

Dillon Francis’ debut album is worthy of the hype

Everything about Dillon Francis‘ debut album is typical Dillon Francis, from the title to the album art to the bass drops. When an album gets as much pre-release attention as Money Sucks, Friends Rule did, expectations can often soar to unrealistic proportions. In the case of this album, those expectations have been gradually rising since February – but from what we’ve heard, it doesn’t look like they’ve been unrealistic.

The album is wonderfully diverse. Tunes like ‘All That’ featuring Twista and the Rejectz offer plenty of bass to get ratchet to, while glimmering progressive house gems like Francis’s collaboration with Sultan + Ned Shepard (‘When We Were Young’) showcase a delightful capacity for handling melody that we haven’t really seen from Francis before. One of our favorites is the JUSTICE-esque French tune ‘Not Butter’, which nods its head to the gritty, hard-hitting French electro house sound.

This one really does have something for (almost) every music lover. Well done, Dillon.

Money Sucks, Friends Rule is scheduled for release October 24 via Columbia Records.

You can sample it here and stream the entire album at MTV.com

Tags: , , , ,