Blur Announce New Album ‘The Magic Whip,’ Preview New Song ‘Go Out’Blur The Magic Whip

Blur Announce New Album ‘The Magic Whip,’ Preview New Song ‘Go Out’

12 years after the release of Think Tank, Blur are set to release their eighth studio album. The band announced the record – called The Magic Whip – on a Facebook video chat with Zane Lowe this morning.

Blur recorded The Magic Whip more than a year ago in Hong Kong, but they didn’t finish it while there. The album was produced by Stephen Street, who also produced Modern Life Is Rubbish, Parklife, The Great Escape, and Blur. The Magic Whip is the band’s first record with Graham Coxon – their lead guitarist and one of their vocalists – since 1999’s 13. Coxon left the group during the recording of Think Tank but reunited with Damon Albarn and co. in 2008.

The Magic Whip is due out April 27th internationally and April 28th in the United States. Hear the album’s first single above, and check out the tracklist below. You can also catch Blur live at Hyde Park in London on June 20th.


1. Lonesome Street
2. New World Towers
3. Go Out
4. Ice Cream Man
5. Thought I Was A Spaceman
6. I Broadcast
7. My Terracotta Heart
8. There Are Too Many Of Us
9. Ghost Ship
10. Pyongyang
11. One Ong
12. Mirrorball


11 Gorillaz Records You Need To Know Before The Group Returns

Tags: , , ,

Categories: , ,