Dancing Astronaut’s Top 10 Tracks of February 2015Top Ten

Dancing Astronaut’s Top 10 Tracks of February 2015

Dancing Astronaut's Top 10 Tracks of February 2015

Looking back on February, Dancing Astronaut breaks down the month’s top 10 tracks. Measured by critical acclaim, airplay, and the editorial staff’s taste-making, you’ll find records now being deemed as the best in the respective month in which it was unveiled in full.

February’s top 10 spans a handful of genres and includes exciting returns and twists. Efforts include Kölsch working up a 10-minute long remix, the return of Spor, Dillon Francis and KSHMR resurrecting moombahton, Blonde’s all-star house gem, Madeon’s tag-team with Passion Pit and more.

Editors Note: For 2015, the criteria of Dancing Astronaut‘s top tracks each month is being altered from previous years; more than release dates are being taken into consideration as we all know tracks can dominate airwaves months before they are ever officially released. Our picks are those that topped our world in February 2015.

10. Odesza - All We Need (Haywyre Remix)

The funk runs strong with young Monstercat producer Haywyre. His abilities have attracted the attention of everyone from Gramatik to Mat Zo, not to mention Odesza, who recently contracted him for an official remix of “All We Need.” Haywyre completely transforms the single from In Return, pitching the vocal down and incorporating a funk-savvy bassline. Perhaps most conspicuous is the groove of the song. Through some deft side-chaining, filter work, and a great deal of swing, Haywyre builds an unmistakable groove that takes the remix to the next level.

9. Monkey Safari - Cranes (Kölsch Remix)

Repaying remix duties from Germany’s Monkey Safari this month, Rune Rielly Kölsch ushers yet another promising sign of life from his refocused musical output. At just over ten minutes long, this particular remix of “Cranes” is not for the easily distracted, but yields a rewarding summer-tinted take on the powerful composure this European heavyweight has minted as his own. Kölsch is fast becoming the master of melodic intervention to the underground market and the bar is set considerably high for his highly anticipated second LP.

8. Spor - As I Need You (ft. Tasha Baxter)

The return of Spor has become one of 2015′s biggest stories, but not undeservingly: it underlies the revival of one of drum ‘n’ bass’s most revered aliases. After building his reputation to new audiences as Feed Me, Jon Gooch’s original namesake sat on the back-burner for far too long. Ahead of the release of Caligo and originally premiered by Annie Mac, “As I Need You” stands out as a darkly fulfilling drum ‘n’ bass number with Tasha Baxter featured on vocals. With its crafty neuro sound design and cinematic hallmarks, the song is every bit as satisfying as we hoped.

7. Miami Horror - Love Like Mine (ft. Cleopold)

The wait for Miami Horror‘s sophomore album has been long and painful, but is finally about to end: the album is called All Possible Futures, and it’s only two months away. The band made the announcement alongside the release of a new single, “Love Like Mine.” This track is funky and bursting with energy, and it’s every bit as fun as fan favorites like “Holidays” and “Sometimes.” If the other fourteen tracks on All Possible Futures are even half as impressive as “Love Like Mine,” it will have been well worth the wait.

6. Jonas Rathsman - Wolfsbane (Original Mix)

Disclosure‘s Method Records is launching a new imprint called Method White with a new track from the amazing Jonas Rathsman. “Wolfsbane” has already generated significant buzz, being named Pete Tong’s Essential New Tune mere days into February. It’s an elegant house song driven by snappy percussion and the juxtaposition of brooding and hopeful tones. Jonas Rathsman exhibits extraordinary patience, letting “Wolfsbane” unfold and develop slowly over the course of seven and a half rich minutes. The song’s valleys are every bit as exciting as its peaks, and together they create a breathtaking journey.

5. Alex Adair - Make Me Feel Better (Don Diablo & CID Remix)

Alex Adair’s summertime heater “Make Me Feel Better” crashed onto the scene last year just as the “tropical house” movement was gaining momentum and was a staple track at pool parties worldwide. To give it a fuel-injected boost, Don Diablo and CID have teamed up to show fans a more soulful side to their individual musical competencies. Slamming a galvanizing string of piano chords on the original, the deadly duo stray from their big room tendencies to blur the lines between the various sub-genres of house that have emerged over the past year. Don Diablo and CID’s remix demonstrates soul-house and is due to garner significant attention during next month’s Winter Music Conference.

4. Dillon Francis & KSHMR - Clouds (ft. Becky G)

There has been a lot of hype about moombahton’s prodigal son Dillon Francis returning to his roots with a forthcoming moombah-focused EP in the near future. Only a few short years ago, before Dillon was the tour headlining Columbia Records recruit he is today, his production style was heavily defined by Dave Nada‘s signature, syrupy-slow electro house. Finally this February connecting with KSHMR, Dillon to make his long-awaited return to the genre that gave him his start. Enlisting the help of vocalist Becky G, the trio put forth a shuffling festival-ready 110-bpm selection called “Clouds.”

3. Galantis - Gold Dust (Original Mix)

The Seafox domination continued this February. After a major breakout with hit tracks like “You” and “Runaway,” Galantis have returned to reveal their forthcoming single “Gold Dust.” Featuring a gentle male vocal and the progressive chords that have epitomized Galantis’ rise to fame, the duo’s carefully synthesized sound is alive and well on their new original. With support from Big Beat Records, the track will surely be followed by an impressive array of remixes from the industry’s biggest names. Once again, it appears Galantis hold a hit record in their hands.

2. Blonde - All Cried Out (ft. Alex Newell)

As far as music that makes the people yearn for more, Blonde’s “I Loved You” was just that. As far as more, we’ve been waiting for another Blonde record like Oliver Twist and his bowl of gruel. Finally en route, here comes “All Cried Out.” Blonde’s newest gem is unfairly impeccable and is due to impact the paradigm of true house music way ahead of its April release on Pete Tong’s FFRR.

Plain and simple: production far exceeds high expectations set by “I Loved You” and Alex Newell harmonizes with the timelessness of dance music’s bed rock upon his vocal contribution. Some real house sh*t.

1. Madeon - Pay No Mind (ft. Passion Pit)

Madeon’s debut album Adventure is around the corner, but one single has already become larger than the anticipation of the full product. “Pay No Mind” is synthpop perfection, naturally working in both Madeon’s infectiously light-hearted electro melodies with Passion Pit’s distinct groovy pop chords. The harmony of Michael Angelakos’ vocals and Madeon’s bright, bouncy layers make for a perfect union, with an obvious amount of attention paid to the intricate details of this collaboration.

Expect Madeon’s introductory record to do much more than scratch the surface. Moving past the stale trend of “hands in the air” EDM, Madeon and Passion Pit’s “Pay No Mind” is alluding to what could be a contender for album of the year just around the corner.

Tags: ,

Categories: ,