The Chemical Brothers return with ‘Sometimes I Feel So Deserted’Chemical Brothers

The Chemical Brothers return with ‘Sometimes I Feel So Deserted’

The Chemical Brothers have returned with a new album and new single in tow. Like The Prodigy before them, the electronic music icons return in 2015 after an extended hiatus with their 8th full length album dubbed Born in the Echoes. The last time we heard from the duo was 2010’s Further, which coincided with a number of headlining slots at many of the US festivals — something older EDM fans often get nostalgic about each time a lineup is released with dance’s pop stars at the helm. A lot has changed in five years since Further, but the duo’s triumphant return “Sometimes I Feel So Deserted” seems to have ignored all of today’s EDM idiosyncrasies (and for that we’re thankful.)  Premiered by Annie Mac, the Brothers first original piece of work in years merges grungy breaks with industrial grime just as they did so successfully in the past.  A teaser of the classic big beat electronica that defined the late 90s electronic music boom, “Sometimes I Feel So Deserted” is bookended by some frantic acid house arps and a howling, yet mesmerizing, top line.  It may not be the next “Block Rockin’ Beats” or “Hey Boy, Hey Girl,” but either way we’re glad to have Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons back in action.

“Sometimes I Feel So Deserted” will be released on Born In The Echoes on July 17th 2015; including a collaboration with Beck.

Born in the Echoes:

01 Sometimes I Feel So Deserted
02 Go [ft. Q-Tip]
03 Under Neon Lights [ft. St. Vincent]
04 EML Ritual [ft. Ali Love]
05 I’ll See You There
06 Just Bang
07 Reflexion
08 Taste Of Honey
09 Born In The Echoes [ft. Cate Le Bon]
10 Radiate
11 Wide Open [ft. Beck]


Categories: ,