Sasha partners with Late Night Tales for new album ‘Scene Delete’Sasha Scene Delete

Sasha partners with Late Night Tales for new album ‘Scene Delete’

Grammy-nominated Welsh producer Sasha will release his latest full-length studio album via Late Night Tales, the UK series of artist curated compilation albums. The 21-track album is inspired by minimal artists like Nils Frahm, Max Richter, and Steve Reich, and is due out April 1. Scene Delete will present a different side of Sasha than longtime fans are accustomed to.

The album is a collection of music that the legendary artist has been working on in recent years, including music for film and television projects. The result is a sound more suited to home speakers than the club — a departure from Sasha’s usual style. Sasha explains the new direction, revealing that “I love post-minimalist modern classical, I love to listen to something completely different that’ s quite hypnotic as well. It almost… purges the system.”

Scene Delete also features collaborations with Nigel Godrich’s band Ultraista on “Bring On The Nightime” and composer John Graham on “Rooms.”

“About three years ago, my collaborators David Gardner and ThermalBear and I wrote a song called “Bring On The Night.” I sent it to Ultraista and within a few days she sent it back with this amazing vocal on, with Nigel Godrich playing keyboards. We tried to do club mixes but we just couldn’ t get it right. So it sat there doing nothing.
Tracks like this kept building up, until finally last summer my frustration boiled over. We’ d made so many tunes that I couldn’t remember the names of half of them: What was that thing with a bass sound and a string line? It drove me mental. At the same time as we were logging these tracks, I was listening to the Jon Hopkins’ Late Night Tales and I thought a lot of the music we’d been working on was in the same vibe. So I sent the music over to Late Night Tales and they really liked it.
Initially, I thought we’d just do a Late Night Tales compilation with maybe a few pieces of my own music. But as we went through everything we’ d worked on in the last two years, we realised we had about 50 pieces of music. So we started editing and compiling: Scene Delete is the end result.”

Scene Delete will be available digitally, as a triple-pack vinyl, and as a deluxe box set. View the full tracklist and listen to the first album cut released, “View2,” below.


01 Channel deq
02 View2
03 Baracus
04 Linepulse
05 Time After Time
06 Detour
07 Pontiac
08 Cassette Sessions D
09 Cassette Sessions E
10 Healer
11 Modcon
12 Scarpa Falls
13 Warewolf
14 Bring on the Night-time feat. Ultraista
15 Corvette
16 Shelter
17 Untitled 3
18 Abacus
19 Rooms feat. John Graham
20 Broadcast
21 Vapour Trails

H/T: Resident Advisor

Read more:

Sasha announces break from touring, promises focus on new music

DA Premiere: Sasha provides a stunning, 9-minute remix of Vaults’ ‘Cry No More’

Tags: , , ,