Audion digs deep on unrelenting Essential MixAudion

Audion digs deep on unrelenting Essential Mix

Avant-pop darling Matthew Dear’s techno alter ego Audion made his BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix debut this week.  Dear, who made his essential mix debut back in 2008, uses his Audion alias to forge two hours of grinding techno into his indelible pop sensibilities.

In the words of host Pete Tong, Dear is “a single-minded American artist with a dual musical personality.” It’s an apt assessment of the artist, though the mix is pure Audion. The DJ doesn’t let up, powering through a selection of deep, quality tunes from start to finish. The mix features new music from Jimmy Edgar, Phil Kieran, and Gold Panda’s alias DJ Jennifer alongside a remix of the Audion classic “Mouth to Mouth” and an ID from a forthcoming Audion album which Tong assures listeners is “imminent.”

Of the mix, Dear comments: “Techno reigns supreme on this one, highlighting songs that inspire the sound of Audion. Thanks to all of the artists on this mix for doing what you do, day in and day out for the love of quality mind bending music. Jam on.”

Listen to the mix below.


Audion – Mouth To Mouth [Spectral Sound]
Bard – Boxed
Kobosil – To See Land
Gianmaria Coccoluto – Dance Corporation
Shlomi Aber & Markus Suckut – Watching The Sunset
Jimmy Edgar – RS2000
High Mobility Weapons Unit – Abandoned Interstellar Tomb
Shlomi Aber – 48V
Phil Kieran – Beat Flow
Dense & Pika – Calf [Drumcode]
Bwana – Homeboy
Patrice Bäumel – Lowrider
Lory D – Sq11
Irene Grant – Joliff
Crystal Bandito – Creative Bounce
Vin Sol – Trac
Sandman – Sandcircle
Nukubus – The Code
The YellowHeads – Creature
Robert Hood – Form [Dekmantel]
Funktion – Roller
Gesloten Cirkel – Moustache
DJ Jenifa – Dresscode
Bodj – Irish Burnout
Truncate – Untitled 1
Modini – The Answer
Jimmy Edgar – iPhone [Unreleased]
CTRLS – Charge
Gesloten Cirkel – Vader
Kevin Over – Djengis
Huxley & J Phlip – What You Want (Remix)
Michael E – Race
Atom™ – Ich Bin Meine Maschine
Audion – Mouth To Mouth
Audion – Unreleased
Audiojack – Robot (2015 Edit) [Leftroom]
Aril Brikha & Mulleart – Illuminate
Omurah – Paranormal Symphony
Alma Negra – Mageko
Chevel – Boat
Truncate – Is It Skinny
Alex Bau – Motak
Sandman – Away From The Clobe
Oni Ayhun & rRoxymore – DR1-4

Read More:

Tiga – ‘Make Me Fall In Love’ (Tiga vs. Audion Pop Version)

Matthew Dear: ‘good music will always prevail’

Tags: , ,