Bonobo announces new album, releases lead track ‘Kerala’Bonobo

Bonobo announces new album, releases lead track ‘Kerala’

After months of anticipation, Simon Green has officially announced the release date of the long-awaited new Bonobo LP. The widely-revered downtempo artist will be dropping Migration on January 13, 2017, his first album since his 2013’s The North Borders.

It’s become apparent over the years that Bonobo’s productions have a distinct ability to move from experiential eccentricities to appealing dancefloor rhythms with ease, and as such, Migration seems a suiting name for the artist’s forthcoming album. Bonobo himself explained the inspiration for the new LP, saying: “The study of people and spaces.” He continues, “It’s interesting how one person will take an influence from one part of the world and move with that influence and affect another part of the world. Over time, the identities of places evolve.”

On top of announcing Migration, Bonobo released the album’s enthralling lead track, titled “Kerala”, which the artist made while touring the US. Representative of Bonobo in prime form, the single is thickly layered with entrancing arpeggiated string chords that build against a catchy beat, all of which eventually arrive at a haunting vocal sample from R&B singer Brandy.

The video for “Kerala” mirrors the hypnotic style of the song, using looping effects to depict a girl frantically running in the streets from an impending meteor in what appears to be an alternate universe.

Migration will be released on Ninja Tune and is set to feature an array of diverse artists including Michael Milosh from the LA-based group Rhye, Australian producer Nick Murphy, who recently departed from his moniker Chet Faker, and the vocals of Nicole Miglis of Hundred Waters, among others.

Check out the full track list, as well as Bonobo’s upcoming 2017 Migration Live Tour dates, below. Pre-sale tickets will be available on November 7.

Find more information here.

Bonobo announces new album, releases lead track ‘Kerala’Bonobo Migration Album Art


Formats: Deluxe 2LP / 2LP / CD / Digital

1. Migration
2. Break Apart (feat. Rhye)
3. Outlier
4. Grains
5. Second Sun
6. Surface (feat. Nicole Miglis)
7. Bambro Koyo Ganda (feat. Innov Gnawa)
8. Kerala
9. Ontario
10. No Reason (feat. Nick Murphy)
11. 7th Sevens
12. Figures


15: HAMBURG, DE – Docks
16: BERLIN, DE – Columbiahalle
17: COLOGNE, DE – Live Music Hall
18: FRANKFURT, DE – Batschkapp
20: AMSTERDAM,NL – Paradiso
21: GRONINGEN, NL – Oosterpoort
22: UTRECHT, NL – TivoliVredenburg
25: LONDON, UK – O2 Academy Brixton
27: DUBLIN, IE – Vicar St.

01: LEEDS, UK – O2
02: MANCHESTER, UK – Apollo
03: GATESHEAD, UK – Sage
04: BEXHILL, UK – De La Warr Pavilion
08: PARIS, FR – Olympia
09: STRASBOURG, FR – La Laiterie
10: LYON, FR – Transbordeur
12: ZURICH, CH – Volkshaus
13: MILAN, IT – Fabrique
15: BARCELONA, ES – Razzmatazz
16: MADRID, ES – La Riviera

24: TORONTO, ON –  Danforth Music Hall
25: MONTREAL, QC – Metropolis
26: BOSTON, MA – House Of Blues
28: NEW YORK, NY – Terminal 5
29: PHILADELPHIA, PA – Electric Factory

01: WASHINGTON, DC – 9:30 Club
02: RICHMOND, VA – The National
03: ASHEVILLE, NC – Orange Peel
11: ASPEN, CO – Belly Up
12: DENVER, CO – Red Rocks
13: LAWRENCE, KS – Granada Theater
15: COLUMBIA, MO – Blue Note
16: ST LOUIS, MO – Ready Room
18: CHICAGO, IL – Concord
19: MILWAUKEE, WI – Turner Hall
20: MADISON, WI – Orpheum
21: MINNEAPOLIS, MN – First Avenue
25: VANCOUVER, BC – Commodore

Read More:

Hundred Waters on curating the FORM Festival experience [Interview]

Chet Faker sheds his moniker; offers first song as Nick Murphy, ‘Fear Less’

Flume’s ‘Say It’ receives official remix from Clean Bandit

Tags: , , , , , , ,