The xx announce new album ‘I See You’; listen to new single ‘On Hold’The

The xx announce new album ‘I See You’; listen to new single ‘On Hold’

It’s official: The xx have announced their new album I See You, due for release on January 13. The record marks their third LP to date, following 2012’s Coexist, and their groundbreaking self-titled debut from 2009.

The new album features 10 tracks, and was produced by the group’s own Jamie xx alongside Scottish producer and XL Recordings affiliate Rodaidh McDonald. The production of the album took nearly three years, and was mainly conceived in New York, Marfa, Reykjavik, London, L.A.

Along with the announcement, The xx have shared their first official single, “On Hold.” The song notably employs the group’s sentimental songwriting, with Romy and Oliver providing a intimate duet to a backdrop of the group’s traditionally electronic production.

Jamie xx’s production follows a similar trajectory to his solo album In Colour, featuring a crisp 808 kit while sampling the legendary Hall & Oates.

The xx shared the following message about the album:

After many years, close together, far apart, great highs, deep lows, heartache and healing, we are so happy to let you know we are releasing our 3rd album ‘I See You’ on January 13th 2017.
We realise these are uncertain times and we hope the joy and love we found making the record will find its way out into the world, in however small a way.


01 “Dangerous”
02 “Say Something Loving”
03 “Lips”
04 “A Violent Noise”
05 “Performance”
06 “Replica”
07 “Brave For You”
08 “On Hold”
09 “I Dare You”
10 “Test Me”