Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 19Deters Beat Lab@0.

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 19

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory is a weekly collection of songs from DA music editor and staff writer Robyn Dexter. With a taste that can only be described as eclectic — to say nothing of a name that lends itself to punnery — DA is happy to present a selection of tracks personally curated by Dexter for your listening pleasure.

Tired of a SoundCloud feed packed with Post Malone remixes, edits and covers? I thought I was, too — until I heard StéLouse‘s cover of “Rockstar” with Still Haze and Manus. StéLouse takes us back to a “gone but never forgotten SoundCloud era of 2014” with a feel-good cover of the iconic song, coming at the listener hard with the Flume vibes. A swinging beat, gorgeously redone vocals that are arguably much better than the original, and a light trap beat give their cover a life all of its own. It’s revamped my love of the song in a whole new way.

In their latest release, drum & bass powerhouse duo Koven tap into their dark side. “With You” is ushered in by Katie Boyle’s strong vocals and a delicate piano melody that quickly builds into something more forceful. Six-minute “With You” is a formidable BPM-cranked journey that ends the UK pair’s successful year on a strong note, showcasing all the best parts of their skill set.

Lost Kings have been on fire on 2017, shifting their focus to from remixes to original content like “Look At Us Now,” “Quit You,” and “First Love.” They’re rounding out the year with another original: a catchy pop-influenced number called “Don’t Call.” The single is a classic Lost Kings track, centered on catchy vocals and a solid dance beat. And don’t worry — they’re still in the remix game.

Kasbo‘s latest creation is a beautiful but melancholy single. He calls “Snow In Gothenburg” one of the most atmospheric and personal tracks he’s ever made, and that’s made completely clear by the somber soundscape he paints as the song progresses. “The song itself about loneliness and isolation, and the freedom of coming to terms with those feelings,” he says. “Seeing the beauty of realizing that everyone has their own ways to go in life and that not everyone is supposed to have someone.”

For the final track of this week’s playlist, we shift gears completely. Monstercat veteran Ephixa and label newcomer Bossfight thrill in this heavy electro creation called “Subside.” With dancing synth melodies and pounding bass, these two take the listener on a wild ride throughout their collaboration, with countless unexpected twists and turns. The surprise factor throughout the course of the song makes it practically unclassifiable, putting “Subside” in a league of its own.

Read More:

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 18

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 17

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 16

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,