Floating Points unveils first album in four years, delivers lead single, ‘Last Bloom’Floating Points

Floating Points unveils first album in four years, delivers lead single, ‘Last Bloom’

Sam Shepard, better known as Floating Points, officially has announced his sophomore album, the long-awaited follow-up to 2015’s showstopper, Elaenia.

The upcoming LP, titled Crush, represents a departure from the soothing, atmospheric work that defined Floating Points just a few years ago towards a darker, more unapologetic club sound. The shift in styles, however, is likely to appeal to fans of his earliest, grittier work, while coming as no surprise to those who caught “LesAlpx” just a few months ago.

 “It’s a little less organized than the garage-y tracks I made at the very beginning. This is me being more unhinged and rough,”  commented the UK producer on his new material in an interview with The Fader.

The album announcement also comes with the simultaneous release of “Last Bloom,” which feigns a touch of melodic subtlety, but ultimately serves as a love letter to Shephard’s growing gear collection, as a hailstorm of syncopated percussion carries the full weight of the four-minute club burner.

Crush is scheduled to release on Ninja Tune on October 18 and will be accompanied by a three-stop European tour to celebrate the album. Find the tour dates and full tracklist below.

Tracklist –

01. ‘Falaise’

02. ‘Last Bloom’

03. ‘Anasickmodular’

04. ‘Requiem for CS70 and Strings’

05. ‘Karakul’

06. ‘LesAlpx’

07. ‘Bias’

08. ‘Environments’

09. ‘Birth’

10. ‘Sea-Watch’

11. ‘Apoptose Pt1’

12. ‘Apoptose Pt2’

Crush Live tour dates

Nov 13 – Paris, FR @ Elysee Montmartre

Nov 16 – Berlin, DE @ Funkhaus

Nov 21 – London @ Printworks

Via: The Fader

Tags: ,

Categories: ,