DJ Shadow plots new LP, ‘Our Pathetic Age,’ releases lead single, ‘Rosie’ [Stream]Shadow Working2 Bw

DJ Shadow plots new LP, ‘Our Pathetic Age,’ releases lead single, ‘Rosie’ [Stream]

Three years after the release of The Mountain Will Fall, DJ Shadow is back with a new LP—fully loaded with 23 tracks, which is the most of all of Shadow’s releases. The title of the album is Our Pathetic Age, and it is due out Nov. 15.

This new long-player will be split down the middle between instrumentals and features. Eleven will be without a guest vocalist, and the remaining will call upon various artists who either match or surpass Shadow’s own reverence in the world of hip-hop.

As of now, Nas, Run The Jewels, Ghostface Killah, Wiki, De La Soul, and Raekwon are just a few of the rappers set to be featured.

“People are addicted to, and addled by distraction; they’re angry and confused, and disaffected by their own governmental institutions,” the producer said of the LP. “There’s songs that are inspired by this energy and seek to harness it, to make sense of it.”

While that commentary may seem cryptic initially, a listen to the album’s first single, “Rosie,” gives this idea form. This track represents DJ Shadow’s undeniable talent for sampling and switches between grooves and feels as only a legendary turntablist can.

Our Pathetic Age track list:
01. Nature Always Wins
02. Slingblade
03. Intersectionality
04. Beauty, Power, Motion, Life, Work, Chaos, Law
05. Juggernaut
06. Firestorm
07. Weightless
08. Rosie
09. If I Died Today
10. My Lonely Room
11. We Are Always Alone
12. Drone Warfare feat. Nas, Pharaohe Monch
13. Rain On Snow feat. Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah, Raekwon
14. Rocket Fuel feat. De La Soul
15. C.O.N.F.O.R.M. feat. Gift of Gab, Lateef The Truth Speaker, Infamous Taz
16. Small Colleges (Stay With Me) feat. Wiki, Paul Banks
17. JoJo’s Words feat. Stro
18. Kings & Queens feat. Run the Jewels
19. Taxin’ feat. Dave East
20. Dark Side of the Heart feat. Fantastic Negrito, Jumbo is Dr.ama
21. I Am Not A Robot (Interlude)
22. Urgent, Important, Please Read feat. Rockwell Knuckles, Tef Poe, Daemon
23. Our Pathetic Age feat. Samuel T. Herring

Tags: , ,