Nicolas Jaar returns to A.A.L. pseudonym with new EP, LP, and mixtapeAgainst All Logic

Nicolas Jaar returns to A.A.L. pseudonym with new EP, LP, and mixtape

Nicolas Jaar returns to his effortless A.A.L. (Against All Logic) moniker, dropping a surprisingly abrasive two-track EP, before following it with the unexpected but much-appreciated release of next week’s full length, 2017 – 2019.

While the prolific producer is known for his ability to create space and textures in his sonic storytelling, the A.A.L. pseudonym built its reputation on the piano riffs and disco inspiration found on the wildly cohesive but self-admitted hodgepodge 2012 – 2017. The latest release and upcoming material could represent a shit in artistic tonality, however, introducing creeky analog synths with overblown, labored beats to the party, and upgrading the whole lot with a touch of Jaar’s signature textural sound design. As much as the two new tracks are a departure from the sought after Against All Logic. sound, the vocal samples therein are about as casual as they are chopped, particularly in “Illusions of Shameless Abundance,” do just enough to anchor the shift in familiar A.A.L. waters.

2017 – 2019 is out Friday, Feb 7, and the full tracklist can be found below. To get your ears on more of Nicolas Jaar’s new material, checkout his NTS Radio Mix from earlier this week.

2017 – 2019:

01 Fantasy
02 If Loving You Is Wrong
03 With an Addict
04 If You Can’t Do It Good, Do It Hard [ft. Lydia Lunch]
05 Alarm
06 Deeeeeeefers
07 Faith
08 Penny
09 You (Forever)

Tags: ,