Dr. Dre announces new album and release dateDr Dre

Dr. Dre announces new album and release date

It’s not Detox, but it’ll do.

Dr. Dre’s long-awaited follow up to The Chronic 2001 has been announced by the hip hop icon on his Beats 1 radio show ‘The Pharmacy.’ The album, his first in 16 years, serves as the soundtrack to the forthcoming N.W.A biopic Straight Outta Compton. Appropriately titled Compton: A Soundtrack, the album is not Detox by a different name, rather it’s a 17-track collection of brand new music featuring Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Kendrick Lamar, Jill Scott and many more.

But then what happened to Detox? Dre scrapped his highly-anticipated third album because he wasn’t happy with the result.

I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good. … I worked my ass off on it, and I don’t think I did a good enough job.

Dr. Dre announces new album and release dateDr Dre Compton Album Artwork 1

 Listen to the full episode of “The Pharmacy With Dr. Dre” here on Apple Music’s Connect and pre-order the album on iTunes.

Compton: A Soundtrack drops on August 7th.


01 Intro
02 Talk About It [ft. King Mez & Justus]
03 Genocide [ft. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay]
04 It’s All on Me [ft. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid]
05 All in a Day’s Work [ft. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius]
06 Darkside/Gone [ft. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar]
07 Loose Cannons [ft. Xzibit & COLD 187um]
08 Issues [ft. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak]
09 Deep Water [ft. Kendrick Lamar & Justus]
10 One Shot One Kill [ft. Snoop Dogg]
11 Just Another Day [ft. Asia Bryant]
12 For the Love of Money [ft. Jill Scott & Jon Connor]
13 Satisfaction [ft. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez]
14 Animals [ft. Anderson Paak]
15 Medicine Mane [ft. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak]
16 Talking to My Diary