Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 112Deters Beat Lab@0.

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory Vol. 112

Dexter’s Beat Laboratory is a weekly collection of songs from DA managing editor Robyn Dexter. With a taste that can only be described as eclectic — to say nothing of a name that lends itself to punnery — DA is happy to present a selection of tracks personally curated by Dexter for your listening pleasure.

Listen in playlist format here

Netsky and Aloe Blacc‘s “Snitch” came out swinging in July, thrilling listeners with wobbling synths, powerful bass, and forceful lyrics. Since it’s Netsky, it was only a matter of time before a drum ‘n’ bass iteration made its debut, and the world is treated to just that via Toronto Is Broken‘s remix. This “Snitch” remix is packed with energy from start to finish.

Matrix & Futurebound are slowly unraveling sets of remixes for Mystery Machine on Viper Records. In the latest set, Flite, T & Sugah, and Glitch City lend their production talents to the April LP. Flite takes on “Believe,” which was initially released last October. He gives the dreamy drum ‘n’ bass track a rougher edge, introducing a drop and following rhythm that are more vigorous than the initial track they’re derived from.

The release of Fox Stevenson‘s debut album, Killjoy, is only a week away. He’s been steadily drumming up excitement by revealing some of its components, including the latest, “Headlights.” Stevenson’s songwriting and production shines in this tune, as his vocals soar over a delicate introduction before he kicks it up a notch in the chorus.

Who doesn’t love “Million Voices” by Otto Knows? The tune is nearly at 30 million YouTube plays and has soundtracked countless parties since its release in 2012. Win & Woo have put their signature slow-burning-yet-groovy take on this beloved song after it was well-received by festival crowds over the summer. “We made it for our Lollapalooza set & loved it so much we knew we had to put it out,” the duo said in the song’s description.

A R I Z O N A‘s ASYLUM album has been two years in the making, and it finally made its full debut on Oct. 11 via Atlantic. The nine-track LP includes tunes like the previously released “Nostalgic” and “Freaking Out,” along with several new cuts like “Where You Are.” The New Jersey trio have a special knack for tapping into listeners’ emotions, and their retro instrumentals complement lead singer Zach Hannah’s vocals impeccably.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: ,